International Management Consortium


International Management Division of the Academy of Management, Anaheim, 9 Aug 2008; Deadline 15 Apr

 ARC: Community: ELMAR: Posting

areas: global: phd

Related ARContent: Consortia 

2008 Academy of Management Annual Meeting, Anaheim, CA
August 9, 2008


The International Management Division will hold a doctoral consortium at the 2008 Annual Meetings of the Academy of Management in Anaheim from 8.00am to 4.00pm on Saturday, August 9, 2008.

This doctoral consortium is for advanced doctoral students interested in international management research who have already made substantial advances in their dissertation. The consortium will provide opportunities for structured discussion and informal interaction between doctoral students and faculty panelists on research, publishing, and career development. Concurrent sessions will be devoted to thesis development where participants will have an opportunity to present and discuss their dissertation research with faculty members.

The doctoral consortium faculty will be awarding up to five Most Promising Dissertation Proposals. These awards have a monetary value of $250 and will be given based on both the written one page proposal submitted to the consortium and the student’s presentation of their proposal. The awards will be presented at the IM Division Business Meeting.

There will also be a session where participants will meet the editors of leading journals in international management.

The doctoral consortium is being organized by Jean-François Hennart (Tilburg University)

The faculty panelists are:

  • Ruth Aguilera (University of Illinois)
  • Ingmar Bjorkman (Swedish School of Economics)
  • Sea-Jin Chang (Korea University)
  • Lorraine Eden (Texas A&M University)
  • Jeffrey Reuer (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
  • Alain Verbeke (University of Calgary)
  • Eleanor Westney (York University)
  • Filipo Wezel (University of Lugano)

“Meet the Editors” panelists will include:

  • Violina Rindova, Academy of Management Review
  • R. Duane Ireland, Academy of Management Journal
  • Joachim Wolf and/or Michael-Jörg Oesterle, Management International Review
  • Pervez Ghauri, International Business Review
  • Lorraine Eden, Journal of International Business Studies
  • Masaaki Kotabe, Journal of International Management
  • Mike Wright, Journal of Management Studies
  • Edward Zajac, Strategic Management Journal

Interested students should email Jean-François Hennart and attach a nomination letter from their thesis advisor with information on their dissertation progress, a one page CV, and a one page description of their dissertation. That page should include the following information: (1) research question (2) relevant literature; (3) dependent and principal independent variables; (4) methodology; (5) data; (6) anticipated findings.

The deadline for applications is April 15, 2008.

Jean-François Hennart
Department of Organization and Strategy
Tilburg University, P.O. Box 90153
5000 LE Tilburg, Netherlands
fax: +31-13-466-8354