Distinguished Marketing Educator


Gary L. Lilien has been selected to receive the Irwin / McGraw-Hill / American Marketing Association Distinguished Marketing Educator Award for 2008

 ARC: Community: ELMAR: Posting Related ARContent: Career Awards 

Gary L. Lilien has been selected to receive the Irwin / McGraw-Hill / American Marketing Association Distinguished Marketing Educator Award for 2008. The award is the highest honor a marketing educator can receive. The “nature and scope” of the Distinguished Marketing Educator’s contributions are embodied in the following statement from the Committee’s Procedures and Policies Handbook:

“The primary criterion for this award is that its recipient be universally acknowledged as a long-standing leader in marketing education. He or she should have made extensive and sustained contributions to marketing education in particular as well as the discipline of marketing in general.”

The competition for this award is of the highest caliber. Honorees are individual who have careers that reflect a balance of distinguished achievements across the criteria of: (1) creativity/innovation, (2) teaching/mentoring, (3) research, (4) administration, (5) public service, and (6) service to the marketing profession.

Dr. Lilien will is being honored for his many and varied contributions to the field of marketing throughout his career. He will be the featured speaker at the luncheon (Saturday, February 16th) during the Winter Marketing Educators’ Conference, to be held February 15-18, 2008 in Austin, TX. The honoree is traditionally presented with a crystal sculpture from Tiffany’s.

Gary L. Lilien is distinguished research professor of management at the Smeal College of Business at The Pennsylvania State University. He is also the co-founder and research director of the Institute for the Study of Business Markets at Penn State, the world’s preeminent academic–practitioner organization aimed at fostering education, interchange, and research in B-to-B markets.

The following are a few highlights from his distinguished career. Dr. Lilien received his BS, MS, and DES degrees from Columbia University in 1967, 1968, and 1973, respectively. Prior to coming to Penn State in 1981, he taught at MIT’s Sloan School of Management from 1973–1981. His research interests center around business marketing, marketing engineering, market segmentation, new product modeling, marketing mix issues for business products, bargaining and negotiations in business markets, modeling the industrial buying process, and innovation diffusion modeling. He is the author or coauthor of twelve books and more than ninety professional articles. He was departmental editor for Marketing for Management Science; is on the editorial board of the International Journal for Research in Marketing; is the functional editor for Marketing for Interfaces, and is an area editor at Marketing Science. He was editor in Chief of Interfaces for six years.

He is the former president and vice president/publications for The Institute of Management Sciences. He also serves as a U.S. coordinator and fellow of the European Marketing Academy. He has received honorary doctorates from the University of Liege, the University of Ghent, and Aston University.

In a rigorous process, the Selection Committee evaluated more than 20 nomination packets describing an outstanding set of candidates. The committee consisted of Ruth Bolton (Chair), Pam Ellen, Dominique (Mike) Hanssens, Kent Monroe and Bart Weitz. The former honorees are:

Philip Kotler (1985)
Gilbert A. Churchill, Jr. (1986)
William Lazer (1987)
Sidney J. Levy (1988)
Gerald Zaltman (1989)
Frank M. Bass (1990)
Paul R. Green (1991
Shelby D. Hunt (1992)
Yoram (Jerry) Wind (1993)
Louis W. Stern (1994)
Richard P. Bagozzi (1995)
Richard Staelin (1996)
William D. Perreault, Jr. (1997)
Barton A. Weitz (1998)
Donald R. Lehmann (1999)
James R. Bettman (2000)
William L. Wilkie (2001)
Donald G. Morrison (2002)
George S. Day (2003)
Jagdish Sheth (2004)
Kent B. Monroe (2005)
Robert A. Peterson (2006)
Leonard L. Berry (2007)