Distinguished Marketing Educator


Nominations are sought for the 2008 AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award; Deadline 2 Oct 2007

 ARC: Community: ELMAR: Posting Related ARContent: Awards 


AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award

Nominations for the 2008 American Marketing Association/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award are now being sought. The award honors living marketing educators for distinguished service and outstanding contributions in marketing education. It will be presented at the AMA’s

2008 Winter Marketing Educators’ Conference. This year marks the twenty-fourth annual presentation of the award. Previous recipients are:

    Philip Kotler (1985), the S.C. Johnson Distinguished Professor of International Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University

    Gilbert A. Churchill, Jr. (1986), Arthur C. Nielson Jr. Chair of Marketing Research, University of Wisconsin-Madison

    William Lazer (1987), Professor Emeritus, Michigan State University

    Sidney J. Levy (1988), the Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing and Chairman, Marketing Department, Northwestern University

    Gerald Zaltman (1989), Joseph C. Wilson Professor of Marketing, Harvard University

    Frank M. Bass (1990), University of Texas System Eugene McDermott Professor of Management, University of Texas-Dallas

    Paul R. Green (1991), S.S. Kresge Professor of Marketing, University of Pennsylvania

    Shelby D. Hunt (1992), Paul Whitfield, Horn Professor of Marketing, Texas Tech University

    Yoram (Jerry) Wind (1993), Lauder Professor and Professor of Marketing, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

    Louis W. Stern (1994), John D. Gray Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University

    Richard P. Bagozzi (1995), Dwight F. Benton Professor of Marketing and Behavioral Science in Management, The University of Michigan, School of Business Administration

    Richard Staelin (1996), Edward and Rose Donnell Professor of Business Administration and Area Coordinator for Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

    William D. Perreault, Jr. (1997), William Rand Kenan, Jr. Professor of Business Administration, the Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

    Barton A. Weitz (1998), JC Penney Eminent Scholar in Retailing and Chair, Marketing Department, University of Florida

    Donald R. Lehmann (1999), George E. Warren Professor of Business, Columbia University

    James R. Bettman (2000), Burlington Industries Professor of Marketing, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

    William L. Wilkie (2001), Aloysius and Eleanor Nathe Professor of Marketing, University of Notre Dame

    Donald G. Morrison (2002), William E. Leonhard Chair in Management Professor of Marketing, University of California, Los Angeles

    George S. Day (2003), Geoffrey T. Boisi Professor of Marketing, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

    Jagdish Sheth (2004), Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing, Emory University

    Kent B. Monroe (2005), Professor of Marketing, University of Illinois

    Robert A. Peterson (2006), Charles T. Stuart III Centennial Chair, University of Texas at Austin

    Leonard L. Berry (2007), M.B. Zale Chair in Retailing and Marketing Leadership and Professor of Humanities in Medicine Texas A&M University

Six specific criteria are considered when evaluating nominees for the award:

  • General Creativity/Innovativeness
  • Administrative Contributions
  • Teaching and Mentoring
  • Public Service
  • Research Contributions
  • Service to the Marketing Profession

All Marketing educators who have made sustained contributions to marketing over extended periods of time are eligible. Such contributions should take a variety of forms and should not be limited to a single professional achievement such as research or administration.

Nominations are invited from individuals and marketing departments. The nominations should include:

  1. A letter (not to exceed four pages) summarizing the nominee’s creative accomplishments, public service, research, teaching, and service contributions to the marketing profession.
  2. A current curriculum vitae for the nominee.

Five copies of all nomination materials should be sent by October 2, 2007 to:

    Ruth N. Bolton
    Professor and W. P. Carey Chair in Marketing
    W. P. Carey School of Business
    Arizona State University
    PO BOX 874106
    Tempe, Arizona 85287-4106
    Phone: (480) 965-2322
    Email: ruth.bolton@asu.edu