Teaching Tools - The Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award

Monica Gerhardt


Key Takeaways
The Gerald E. Hills Award Best Paper on Entrepreneurial Marketing award is presented annually (normally in conjunction with the Summer AMA) to the author(s) of the “best paper” who have made a significant impact on the marketing and entrepreneurship interface.
Gerald (Gerry) E. Hills is widely recognized for his research and expertise in entrepreneurial marketing, especially for his work on opportunity recognition. In addition, Gerry initiated and continues to organize a symposium on entrepreneurial marketing (recognized as the Marketing and Entrepreneurship Research Symposium) since the eighties. Gerry was one of the AMA leaders who initiated the Special Interest Group concept. The Entrepreneurial Marketing SIG is pleased to present a best paper award in recognition of Gerry’s lifetime contributions to the field. 

These are the past five winners of the Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award:

2017 Winner: Webb, Justin W; Ireland, R Duane; Hitt, Michael A; Kistruck, Geoffrey M; Tihanyi, Laszlo,"Where is the Opportunity without the Customer? An Integration of Marketing Activities, the Entrepreneurship Process, and Institutional Theory," Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science, 2011, 39 (4), 537-554.

2016 Winner: Diane M. Martin (Aalto University) and John Schouten (Aalto University): "Consumption-Driven Market Emergence," Journal of Consumer Research, 2014, 40(5), 855-870.

2015 Winner:​ Stuart Read (IMD Lausanne), Nicholas Dew (Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey), Saras Sarasvathy (University of Virginia), Michael Song (University of Missouri), and Robert Wiltbank (Willamette University): "Marketing Under Uncertainty - The Logic of an Effectual Approach," Journal of Marketing, 2009, 73 (3), 1-18.

2014 Winner: Marc Gruber (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Ian C. MacMillan (University of Pennsylvania) and James D. Thompson (University of Pennsylvania): “Look Before You Leap: Market Opportunity Identification in Emerging Technology Firms”, Management Science, 54, 9 (2008) 1652-1664.​​​​​

2013 Winner:​ Nicole E. Coviello (Wilfrid Laurier University) for "Network Dynamics in the International New Venture," Journal of International Business Studies, 2006, 37(5), 713-731. Reprinted: 2009 in Entrepreneurship and Globalization, Volume 5, RB McNaughton and J Bell (eds.), London: Sage Publications, 151-176.​

Monica Gerhardt