About AMA

The AMA Board of Directors is an important governance mechanism of the American Marketing Association.  The primary role of the AMA Board of Directors is to provide strategic guidance, direction and advice for the association and to provide fiduciary oversight to protect the business property of the association.

Open Call for Nominations:

The AMA nominating committee has issued an open call for nominations to fill Secretary position and at-large positions on the board of directors for the term beginning July 1, 2018. To nominate yourself or another individual, e-mail Katie Nixon at knixon@ama.org to request a nomination form. All nominations must be postmarked by July 31, 2017.​

2017-2018 Board of Directors


  • Mary Garrett, Chairperson - Fmr. Vice President, Marketing and Communications, IBM Global Sales and Distribution
  • Bill Cron, Chairperson-elect - J. Vaughn & Evelyne H. Wilson Professor Director, Research, Neeley School of Business, Texas Christian University

  • Valarie Zeithaml, Immediate Past Chairperson - David S. Van Pelt Family Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina​

  • Stacy Armijo​, Secretary - Senior Vice President and General Manager​, Pierpont Communications
  • Dennis R. James, Treasurer - ​Chief Financial Officer​, Greater Chicago Food Depository
  • Sandy Jap, Chairperson, AMA Foundation - Professor of Marketing, Emory University, Goizueta Business School

At-large Board Members

Karen Albritton
President and CEO

Barry Calpino
Vice President, Innovation

Ipsita Dasgupta
Executive Vice President Regional Business Head for Asia Pacific and Russia/CIS
Glenmark Pharmaceuticals

Chris Di Cesare
Head of Creative Programming

Mayur Gupta
Vice President - Growth and Marketing

Sunil Gupta
Chair, General Management Program
Harvard Business School

Mark Houston
Dept. Head, Professor of Marketing, and Foreman R. and Ruby S. Bennett Chair in Business Administration
Texas A&M University

Jeffrey Inman
Associate Dean for Research and Faculty
University of Pittsburgh

Greg W. Marshall
Charles Harwood Professor of Marketing & Strategy
Crummer Graduate School of Business, Rollins College

H. Rao Unnava
Dean, Graduate School of Management
University of California, Davis

Russ Klein
Chief Executive Officer, American Marketing Association

Board of Directors - This secure site is for the exclusive use of the AMA's Board of Directors and is intended for use by Board of Directors in preparing for and participating in AMA Board activities.  


Become a Member
Access our innovative members-only resources and tools to further your marketing practice.