AMA Honors Rajan Varadarajan as the 2015 Distinguished Marketing Educator

The American Marketing Association (AMA) announces Rajan Varadarajan as the recipient of the 2015 AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award.  Dr. Rajan Varadarajan is University Distinguished Professor and Distinguished Professor of Marketing, Regents Professor, holder of the Ford Chair in Marketing and E-Commerce in the Mays Business School at Texas A&M University, and a self-proclaimed “student for life.”  Dr. Varadarajan will be presented with his award at the 2015 Winter Marketing Educators’ Conference on Saturday, February 14 in San Antonio, Texas.

With an exceptional record of service to the AMA, Dr. Varadarajan served as editor of the Journal of Marketing, has chaired multiple AMA conferences, and currently is the AMA Vice President for Publications.  He serves on the Editorial Review Board of numerous journals including the Journal of Marketing, Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science, and Journal of International Marketing.  Dr. Varadarajan refers to these roles as a way to provide service to the marketing profession as well as “an opportunity to be tutored by hundreds of leading scholars from all over the world on leading edge substantive issues in marketing, philosophy of science related issues and the research process.”  He cites the volunteer roles that he has held over the years as “greatly beneficial” to him, “an opportunity for learning, and in turn, [to] become a better teacher and researcher.”

Dr. Varadarajan’s primary interests are in marketing strategy, innovation, international marketing and environmental sustainability.  He has published over 100 journal articles and book chapters, and made over 200 presentations at international conferences, doctoral and faculty consortia, universities, and other forums.  Dr. Varadarajan is a recipient of nine industry honors and awards, including the AMA Paul D. Converse Award for contributions to the field of marketing (2008) and the AMA Marketing Strategy Special Interest Group’s Vijay Mahajan Award for Lifetime Contributions to Marketing Strategy (2003).  He is elated to add The AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award to the list, referring to it as “the pinnacle of awards” and commenting that he is “honored and humbled to have been selected for this prestigious award.”

The AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award honors living marketing educators for distinguished service and outstanding contributions in marketing education.  Recipients must have notable careers with accomplishments across research, teaching and mentoring, public service, creativity and innovation, service to the marketing profession, and administration.  Honorees must be universally acknowledged as a long-standing leader in marketing education, and must have made extensive contributions to marketing education and the marketing discipline in general. 

Upon receiving the 31st annual AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award, Dr. Varadarajan will join marketing luminaries, such as George Day, Paul Green, Philip Kotler, Don Lehmann, Leigh McAlister, Louis Stern, and Valarie Zeithaml in being honored with this distinguished industry award.

For the complete list of award recipients, visit

For information on the 2015 Winter Marketing Educators’ Conference, visit

About the American Marketing Association 
With a global network of over 30,000 members, the American Marketing Association (AMA) serves as one of the largest marketing associations in the world.  The AMA is the leading professional association for marketers and academics involved in the practice, teaching, and study of marketing worldwide.  Members of the AMA count on the association to be their most credible marketing resource, helping them to establish valuable professional connections and stay relevant in the industry with knowledge, training, and tools to enhance lifelong learning​

Contact: Julie Schnidman
Foundation Manager
(312) 542-9015 ​​

Become a Member
Access our innovative members-only resources and tools to further your marketing practice.