About AMA

The AMA Board of Directors is an important governance mechanism of the American Marketing Association.  The primary role of the AMA Board of Directors is to provide strategic guidance, direction and advice for the association and to provide fiduciary oversight to protect the business property of the association.

Open Call for Nominations:

The AMA nominating committee has issued an open call for nominations to fill Secretary position and at-large positions on the board of directors for the term beginning July 1, 2019. To nominate yourself or another individual, e-mail Rachel Hagan at rhagan@ama.org to request a nomination form. All nominations must be postmarked by July 31, 2018.​

2018-2019 Board of Directors


  • Bill Cron, Chairperson– J. Vaughn & Evelynne H. Wilson Professor in Business, and the Sr. Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Research at Neeley School of Business, Texas Christian University

  • Stacy ArmijoChairperson-Elect – Chief Experience Officer, Amplify Credit Union

  • Mary Garrett, Immediate Past Chairperson – Serves as a board member and on the audit committee of Ethan Allen Interiors, Inc.
  • Katherine (Kay) Lemon, Secretary - Accenture Professor of Marketing, Carroll School of Management, Boston College

  • Dennis R. James, Treasurer – Chief Financial Officer, Greater Chicago Food Depository

  • Russell S. Winer, Chairperson, AMA Foundation Board of Advisors – William H. Joyce Professor of Marketing, Leonard N. Stern School of Business, New York University

At-large Board Members

Roger Adams
Chief Marketing Officer (retired)

Karen Albritton
Advisor to CEOs and boards 
of emerging growth & mid-market companies

Lisa Bowman
Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer
United Way Worldwide

Mayur Gupta
Global Vice President - Growth and Marketing

Mark Houston
Professor & the Eunice and James L. West Chair of Marketing
Neeley School of Business, Texas A&M University

Jeffrey Inman
Albert Wesley Frey Professor of Marketing and Associate Dean of Research & Faculty
Katz Graduate School of Business, University of Pittsburgh

Greg W. Marshall
Charles Harwood Professor of Marketing & Strategy
Crummer Graduate School of Business, Rollins College

Diana O'Brien
Global Chief Marketing Officer

H. Rao Unnava
Dean and Professor, Graduate School of Management
University of California, Davis

Russ Klein
Chief Executive Officer, American Marketing Association

Board of Directors - This secure site is for the exclusive use of the AMA's Board of Directors and is intended for use by Board of Directors in preparing for and participating in AMA Board activities.  


Become a Member
Access our innovative members-only resources and tools to further your marketing practice.